Allied War Leaders

Just two years after the birth of The American Legion, its founders saw fit to award a Distinguished Service Medal as tribute to those who made great contributions to veterans. The first award, presented in 1921 at the Legion's national convention, could not be limited to one individual. Instead, five were presented to recognize the importance of Allied forces in the victorious battles of
World War I.

United in Kansas City, Mo., the chosen site for the National World War I Museum at the Liberty Memorial, Legionnaires resolved: "... in recognition of the respect, admiration and affection which The American Legion has for the distinguished guests now honoring us, and as a mark of our esteem and gratification at the honor thus paid us by attending our National Convention, The American Legion, in convention assembled, hereby authorizes Marshal Ferdinand Foch (of France), Admiral Sir David Beatty (of Great Britain), Lieutenant General Baron Jacques (of Belgium), General Armando Diaz (of Italy) and M. Charles Bertrand (of France, president of the Inter-Allied Veterans Association) to wear the official badge of The American Legion. Photos courtesy of the Library of Congress and the American Legion Library.

2018, Elizabeth Dole

Elizabeth Dole launched her public service career in 1960 working on the Kennedy-Johnson presidential campaign, and served in several administrations – up to and including the cabinet secretaryships of Transportation and Labor (under different presidents).
Dole also served as president of the American Red Cross during the 1990s, and U.S. senator from her native North Carolina in the 2000s. In between, she assisted in her husband Bob’s presidential campaign.

Read more »

2017, Dr. Apostolos P. Georgopoulos

Georgopoulos – director of the Brain Sciences Center in the Minneapolis Department of Veterans Affairs Health Care System, and The American Legion Family-University of Minnesota Brain Sciences Chair – has conducted decades of research into Gulf War Illness and traumatic brain injuries among veterans. The American Legion Department of Minnesota raised $1 million in the late 1980s to fund the Brain Sciences Chair at the University of Minnesota. Georgopoulos came to the university in 1991.
The award was given during the Legion's national convention in Reno, Nev.

Read more »

2016, U.S. Army 3rd U.S. Infantry Regiment

The U.S. Army’s 3rd U.S. Infantry Regiment, more popularly known as The Old Guard, received the Distinguished Service Medal during the 98th National Convention in Cincinnati.

Read more »

2015, Chuck Hagel

The former Secretary of Defense – the only Vietnam War veteran, and the first enlisted combat veteran, to serve in that office – was awarded The American Legion’s highest honor at the 97th National Convention in Baltimore by National Commander Mike Helm.

Read more »

2014, Dr. Donald H. Jenkins

A former U.S. Air Force trauma surgeon who pioneered innovative ways to stop battlefield bleeding was presented the Distinguished Service Medal at the 96th National Convention.
Dr. Donald H. Jenkins, a retired colonel, is currently director of the trauma center at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minn.

Read more »

2013, Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders

The NFL dance troupe received the Distinguished Service Medal at the 95th National Convention in Houston. National Commander James E. Koutz praised the Cheerleaders’ dedication to community service and support for the U.S. military.

Read more »

2012, Sen. Richard Lugar

The Republican lawmaker and party leader on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee was presented with the award at the 94th National Convention in Indianapolis - the capital of his home state - close to the end of his 36-year Senate career. Lugar was honored for his long and heralded service to veterans and national security, as well as his commitment to bipartisanship.

Read more »

2011, Chet Edwards

Former U.S. Democratic Rep. Chet Edwards was honored with the Distinguished Service Medal at the 93rd National Convention in Minneapolis for his unflagging support of Legion principles during his time in office.

National Commander Jimmie Foster, in presenting the award, lauded Edwards as "a true champion for veterans and American Legion issues ... although his district was in Waco, Texas, his legislative record benefited veterans everywhere.

Read more »

2010, Boy Scouts of America

Boy Scouts of America, the first national youth activity officially recognized by The American Legion, received the Distinguished Service Medal at the 92nd National Convention in Milwaukee.

Read more »

2009, Gen. David Petraeus

For his leadership as commander of Multi-National Force Iraq in 2007 and 2008, Petraeus received the Legion's Distinguished Service Medal in 2009.

Presenting the award, National Commander David K. Rehbein praised Petraeus for the success of the "surge" strategy. "He would be the first to tell you that the credit for the success in Iraq belongs to those who served and those who are still serving there," he told Legionnaires.

Read more »